Short stories: the challenges of brevity

I edited and sent off a short story today. Exciting! I should really write more shorts. The trouble is, I often tend to go for expansive stuff rather than the knife-sharp and short stuff…

I’ve been thinking I should practise writing flash fiction to hone my short-writing skills. Was inspired by this piece in The Guardian; I love the notion of “stories in your pocket”.

Related to short stories, a while ago I read David B. Coe’s post on Magical Words comparing novels vs short fiction in terms of the writing process. I wish I could learn to do this well:

This is the essence of writing a compelling short story: taking a situation, a moment in time, and giving it narrative structure so that it becomes something greater and more meaningful, something that feels complete. It is what I strive to do with my short fiction. When writing a short piece, I know that I can’t explain everything about my world or my characters or even my magic system. So I tell my readers the bare minimum of what they need to know and I try to allow my story to exist on its own terms.

Today I also wrote a poem draft during my walk to work and did some daydreaming for a potential fantasy trilogy (shhhh), so it’s been a surprisingly good writing day, all in all.

About Sara Norja

I'm a bilingual writer of prose and poetry. Things I enjoy apart from writing include tea, reading voraciously, cycling on warm summer nights, medieval manuscripts, dancing, and the wind.
This entry was posted in discussion, linkage, short stories, submission and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Short stories: the challenges of brevity

  1. I really enjoy writing short stories. I can finish them quickly and I like that I may be able to publish an anthology soon. Of course I want to focus mostly on novel length projects but you can’t beat a good short story :)

    • Sara Norja says:

      I’d like to improve at finishing short stories quickly – my problem is, I either do them almost in one sitting, or then they stagnate forever.

      Good luck with your potential anthology! I really love a good short story too, yes. They pack a totally different kind of punch than a novel does.

      • Thanks! As for wanting to finish a story in one sitting, I feel that way often. I’ve considered trying out flash fiction to see if that works.

        Maybe a combination of both, short stories and flash fiction. Who knows?

Comments are closed.